RE: Welcome to Level The Field!

Let's smash the grass ceiling and keep the momentum going. Buckle up!

Welcome back to Level The Field!

Well, hi guys. Welcome back to another edition of Level The Field, an exclusive women’s sport newsletter, curated by Missing Perspectives. Even though it’s only been a fortnight since we last landed in your inbox, a LOT has gone down since. So, let’s get to unpacking it shall we?

First of all, we’ve gotta start with the latest development in the Spanish football saga, and the long overdue resignation of Luis Rubiales. He finally seemed to see reason after a conversation with his daughters?! That we’re pretty sure had more to do with the damage to his reputation than believing/admitting any fault towards Jenni Hermoso but anyway… we’ll take the win.

There’s more to celebrate though - a huge congratulations to Montse Tomé who has been announced as the first ever female head coach of the Spanish national team! What a time to be taking up the mantle - we wish her all the best at stepping into her power and shifting the conversation for good.

Moving to other parts of the world, we’d also love to take a moment and congratulate Coco Gauff on her incredible win at the US Open this past week. She’s the first American teenager since Serena in 1999 to lift the trophy and if you haven’t seen her epic victory speech, check it out.

We’d also LOVE to introduce you to the two incredible women who will be running this newsletter on our behalf - Ashtyn and Lucy. Both of these fiercely fabulous women are extremely passionate about empowering women through sport, making change and creating equity that transforms the way women and girls around the world are taught to think about and have a relationship with sport and exercise. That’s why we have them bringing you incredible interviews, research and insight into the inner workings of this complex world.

Actually, speaking of which we’re so excited that this edition’s giveaway includes copies of Chloe Dalton’s brilliant new book Girls Don’t Play Sport -which tackles all these things. If Chloe’s not on your radar, she’s known on Instagram as @thefemaleathleteproject which is a must-have in your feed because it’s just so cool to see so many women killing it.

Thank you so much for all your support so far. Tell a friend about Level The Field and Missing Perspectives, yeah?

We hope you enjoy!

The Missing Perspectives Squad xx

Joy Neville made history this week, becoming the first woman to officiate a men’s rugby world cup game - AND WE ARE HERE FOR IT.

The Statistic

An analysis conducted by MediaNet found that in Australia, only 17% of sports journalists are female. Meanwhile, Deakin University found that globally, 4% of sports news reporting was dedicated to women’s sport.

The Fun Fact

Men and women’s T20 cricket is set to be included in the 2028 Olympics in Los Angeles. The England & Wales Cricket Board has also increased match fees for the women’s team, to make it equal to the men’s team. FINALLY!

We’re totally calling it: rodeo is our new favourite sport (we’re also declaring it’s a sport). Dozens of cowgirls from across Australia have travelled to the Queensland town of Normanton to compete in Australia’s first ever female-only rodeo.

The Exclusive: Ashtyn Hiron (pro athlete and sports reporter)

There’s no greater pride than pulling on your jersey, standing arm-in-arm with your teammates and hearing the Australian National anthem ring through a stadium. It’s what I’ve dreamed of since I was a little girl, what I’ve spent essentially my whole life working for, what I've been privileged enough to experience over the past decade.

It’s a common feeling all who’ve walked that path share. No matter the sport or journey to get there. During the Women’s Soccer World Cup, I was immersed in that same sense of pride - watching from the outside. Admiring what The Matildas had built and earned, what Australia finally gave them, and something I have never experienced. The pride of a nation.

As the Matildas took center stage of the Australian sporting arena, I couldn't help but feel connected to the women Australia were hailing hero’s. The ‘aha’ moment. The realisation that these Athletes were extraordinary, worth watching, worth supporting. I knew it, we knew it - but now Australia knew it.

I’m an Australian Women’s Lacrosse player. A title people aren’t often impressed with. Our sport is not in the Olympics yet, we don’t get government funding and our numbers are small. I’m also a Television Journalist. A title people are often impressed with. Allowing me the privilege to observe and participate in how we choose to cover women compared to our male counterparts. I’ve pitched stories of triumphant female athletes who are excelling in what they do and my have watched my bosses wrinkle their nose because ‘people wouldn’t be that interested.’

This time last year, I competed in my fourth World Championship for Australia. I had played in two national team campaigns at the U '19 level and this was my second time donning the green and gold for the women’s team. In the lead up, I was working my full-time job for a mainstream media outlet in my hometown. Shift work, lifting, training, eating, barely sleeping and traveling for training camps. It’s an all consuming second full-time job. But one a professional athlete of a minority sport has to do to be successful.

When I returned from my month off representing our country, I remember receiving small comments in the newsroom: ‘oh we should have probably put you in our bulletin’ and ‘that’s a pretty awesome thing you did’. I shrugged them off, but I couldn’t help thinking if I was a man in a more popular sport they would have covered it. They would have even promoted it. One of their on-air reporters is traveling the world to represent our country. What a story line.

Fast forward twelve months - The Matilda’s stole the hearts of Australian girls and boys, our politicians and our parents. I’m inspired, knowing that they were the trailblazers that helped the nation see us as athletes and not just female athletes. As the news cycle changes - maybe next time I represent Australia, I too will be worth the coverage.

Kiara Bowers has continued to show she is among the AFLW's best players with a 10-vote performance in Saturday's loss last weekend against Collingwood at Victoria Park (TLDR: Kiara is a BOSS).

The Interview: Emma Ilijoski from the Young Matildas & Canberra United

Can you tell us about your own career - how did you end up playing with the Young Matildas and Canberra United at such a young age?

I’m from Canberra and I’m only 20 years old. I’m currently playing my fourth season for Canberra United. I started playing from a really young age - from when I saw my younger brother playing. I was around eleven years old when that happened, so I got scouted and started training. When I was around twelve years old, I really thought that I could do this as a career - and this was because I was being given the opportunity to compete at the level that I was. I am always so thankful for the coaches who have shaped me.

When I was sixteen I was scouted for the Junior Matildas team and then the Young Matildas - and in-between that, Canberra United. It really put me on a great path, and my brother takes the credit….!

You have achieved so much at only 20 years old! What are your current goals?

My short-term goal is to have a good season with Canberra United. The first ever game I went to, I was a mascot on the field - and now I’m a part of the team. I also love giving back to the grassroots level and younger players.

As a young player, I used to love when players came to visit. So I love doing that as well. I wanted to be a good role model - off the field - and also on the field we have a responsibility. We have an amazing platform [as professional female athletes] so I also want to be able to speak about what I’m passionate about.

The Matildas and WWC also shifted the dial when it comes to women’s sport and the Liberty A-League. Did you catch any games? And what do you think the ‘Matilda effect’ will be on your own league?

Yes, I agree that the dial has shifted. I went to any World Cup games in Sydney that I could - probably went to six games all up! I actually found myself getting really emotional. It is so cool that it happened to our very own Matildas team and it’s such a historical moment for women’s sport globally, and women’s sport in Australia. From a player’s perspective, it was amazing seeing the player’s now also become household names. Boys and girls having names like Mary Fowler on the backs of jerseys.

The impact on the A-League has been massive. Canberra United broke our membership record and have gotten some really good numbers. Post Women’s World Cup, we have seen a natural growth into the A-League and it’s so heightened. And also, we’re seeing some of the Matildas playing in our own competition, like Courtnee Vine - players that fans have been able to relate to from a young age. I think it really helps that we got to have the World Cup on home soil and this really set the standards for facilities, and also saw how Australia can push to have women’s games front and centre.

Research from Professional Footballers Australia has found that 96% of Australian women players have had to play in a men’s kit. You’re now an Ambassador for PARK - a brand that makes kits dedicated and tailored to female athletes. Why are you passionate about making sure women don’t play in ill-fitting kits?

I just feel like now we have standards. We have seen the problem fixed at the top level, and it’s now about fixing it at the grassroots level. If you can feel comfortable, you’re going to play better. It’s something that can really go under the radar, and if we can break down as many barriers as possible, it’s something that can make change - even if it’s just starting a conversation. We want to empower young women to feel confident in a kit that fits. I want to see as many girls as possible in Australia getting into the game.

The Giveaway: Win a copy of Girls Don’t Play Sport!

When Chloe Dalton was eight years old, she would practise her goal kicks in the half-time break of her brothers' rugby matches, all the while telling impressed onlookers: 'Girls don't play rugby.'

Sixteen years later, Chloe Dalton won Olympic gold playing rugby sevens (casually) for Australia and is now a fixture in the AFLW. In 2020, she started her own news platform, The [Female] Athlete Project, because while she was surrounded by women achieving incredible things in sport, nobody was hearing about them.

This book shines a light on the interlinked quagmires of respect, opportunity, representation and pay that continue to stall the progress of women's teams around the world. Girls Don't Play Sport is a fierce manifesto advocating for female athletes at all levels. It explores how we got to this point and asks where we need to go next to embrace the untapped potential of women's sport.

Want to grab yourself a copy? Email us with the name of the team that is topping the AFLW ladder (and your favourite player while you’re at it!): [email protected].

Bye for now - that’s it from us! If you have any feedback, get in touch via [email protected] (we’d love to hear from you!)Tuesda